smile, “you have a healthy baby!”

About cesareanart

Portraying the side effects of unwanted cesareans.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to smile, “you have a healthy baby!”

  1. Renee says:

    I can really relate to this one…my nurse midwife and the OBs all seemed to have the same csection script, which included being grateful for everyone’s health…completely ignoring my emotion pain and damage.

  2. Kelly says:

    yes, and still this is the refrain others want to give me when I try to express my emotional pain. “Jax could have died, so be thankful that you had the c-section and he is ok now”….but Jax would have likely been fine if they all would have left me alone in the first place instead of intervening over and over again, rushing the experiance that he and I were trying to have:( I had birthed two babies already and my body knew what to do, it just needed time.
    Again, Thank you so much for this art.

  3. E says:

    It happens after a “natural” birth too. How the mother feels emotionally and physically completely doesn’t matter after she gave birth, the baby is a center of attention and concern 24/7, while his mother continues to be just a vessel to deliver whatever the baby might need.

  4. Allie says:

    I didn’t have a cesarean, but I did hear this one when I was told I couldn’t have a home waterbirth, but instead had to be induced at 37 weeks. My friend said it best when she said “Mourning the birth you hoped and planned for and being grateful for a healthy baby are 2 different things”

  5. justine says:

    I went in for a natural birth and ended up with an emergency c-sec and then a complete dehiscence – so my wound was completely open. It was 16 weeks before it had fully healed and I need a nurse to come every day to change the dressing. I hated when people blew off the trauma i had to endure on a daily basis. I was thrilled my baby was healthy and happy; didn’t mean i wasn’t also seriously pissed and sad that I was in pain. YOU GET IT and I’m glad to have seen this art.

  6. Jess says:

    Nothing is more frustrating to hear then this line. Nothing angers me more then when someone who doesn’t understand what this surgery did to me says this to me.

  7. Melissa says:

    I am so grateful for this art and these comments. I feel this way too. I also hear this from others who have delivered via c-section and it hurts even more because I thought another person who had been cut open would be able to relate and then they say it too. It hurts.

Leave a Reply

